Wednesday, March 31, 2021
Home Breaking News The 2023 Tour de France will start from Bilbao, in the Spanish...
- Advertisement -

The 2023 Tour de France will start from Bilbao, in the Spanish Basque country

Published on :

                For the second time in its history, the 2023 Tour de France will start from the Spanish Basque Country.  Organizers and local authorities announced on Friday that the famous cycling race would start in Bilbao in 2023. 

                                    <p><span><span><span><span><span><span>The large loop</span></span></span>  will leave for Spain in two years.  The 2023 Tour de France will indeed start from Bilbao, in the Spanish Basque Country, according to the announcement made on Friday 26</span></span></span> <span><span><span>March by its organizers with local authorities. <span><span><span>In its history, the Tour has started only once from the Basque Country, in 1992 in San Sebastián (Spain).</span></span></span></span></span></span>

In 2023, the race will start with a stage with start and finish in Bilbao, the capital of the province of Biscay. The second stage will go from the province of Biscay to the province of Alava.

The Grande Boucle will therefore leave abroad twice in a row, as was already the case in 2014 (Yorkshire, United Kingdom) and 2015 (Utrecht, Netherlands).

25e departure from abroad

- Advertisement -

If the next edition starts on the 26 June from Brittany, from Brest, the event will begin in 2022 in Copenhagen, since the Covid-19 pandemic has forced the organizers to change their plans and postpone the departure from Denmark by one year.

Bilbao has never hosted the Tour de France before. But the Basque Country has long been linked to the history of the race, both by the riders who excelled there and by its supporters who often crossed the border into the Pyrenees by unfurling the ikurrina (Basque flag).

This departure from abroad will be on 25e du Tour since its creation in 1903. The Netherlands is the country that has most often hosted the kick-off (6 times), ahead of Belgium (5 times) and Germany (4 times).

With AFP

- Advertisement -
            </div><script async src="//" charset="utf-8"></script>

Source site

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

- Advertisement -